You are here


Who is eligible for the NDIS?

To be eligible to participate in the NDIS, an applicant must:

  • Be an Australian citizen, permanent resident or New Zealand citizen who holds a Protected Special Category Visa;
  • Be under 65 years of age;
  • Live in a trial site; and
  • Have a permanent and significant disability.

See the NDIS website for detailed summary of the access requirements for becoming a participant in the NDIS

What about clients who are over 65 years of age?

Unfortunately, people over the age of 65 years are not eligible for the NDIS. The NDIA have stated that people who are ineligible as a result of their age will not be disadvantaged and will continue to receive disability supports that achieve similar outcomes to those they have received in the past. Participants who join the Scheme before they turn 65 can choose to remain a participant of the NDIS or transfer to the Commonwealth Aged Care system.